A dozen new inductees for Wambo Coal Singleton Hall of Fame on its 10th anniversary

On 21 November, a record 12 inductions have been made to the Wambo Coal Singleton Hall of Fame at a special ceremony marking the 10th year of the initiative. Run in a partnership between Singleton Council and Peabody Wambo Coal, the Hall of Fame was established in 2009 to recognise those people who were born in, or have a strong association with Singleton and who have attained prominence at a state, national or international level in their field of endeavour.

Among those honoured at the ceremony at Singleton Civic Centre included long-standing councillor and SES volunteer John Martin and his late wife Jan Martin who were inducted in the community service category, along with long-time businessman Richard Martin, Jenny Doran, Michael McCrone, Vera Smith (deceased), David Walker, David Williams and Gail Solman. Local organisations the Country Women’s Association Singleton branch, the Rotary Club of Singleton and red Cross Singleton NSW Branch were also inducted in the Community Service category. Ian Hedley, who started his business, Hedweld at Mt Thorley and which has grown to a world leader in the design and manufacture of innovative products, was inducted in the business category.

“Since the first inductions in 2009, we have paid tribute to 46 people, plus 12 more tonight who are recognised and celebrated with a paver on our Hall of Fame. This isn’t an ordinary footpath – it’s a pathway laid with the achievements of the individuals, families and organisations who helped make Singleton what it is today. All 12 of tonight’s inductees are most deserving of this great honour to take their place on a prestigious list of individuals, families and organisations, and stand as an example to us all to strive for the highest levels of achievement in whatever field we choose. I congratulate all inductees and their families over the course of 10 years, and thank Peabody Wambo Coal for their ongoing support since the inception of the Hall of Fame to recognise the outstanding people in our community.”

Cr. Godfrey Adamthwaite, Chair of the Wambo Coal Singleton Hall of Fame Comittee